Kat Forrester Events

Terms & ConditionsSitemapDeutsch

Kat Story

View from Home

Kat was born in Manchester, England and grew up in the small rural enclave of Parbold Hill, in the industrial area of southwest Lancashire.

Photo Katriona

She left home at 18, and studied social science at Birmingham University, followed by a post-graduate certificate in education at York University. After a few years of teaching social science at Kidbrooke girls comprehensive school in southeast London, she went on a 9 month journey through Africa, which changed her horizons. She worked for several years in a wholefood shop in St. Nicholas market, Bristol. In 1974 she moved to London to study oriental philosophy, healing and cookery at the Community Health Foundation in Old Street, and trained as a macrobiotic chef at the Sunwheel Restaurant in Camden Lock.

She first came to live and work in Switzerland in 1981, as chef at the Restaurant Sesam in Monbijoustrasse, Bern. She was a founding member of the Kientalerhof study centre in 1985, working and teaching cookery and shiatsu there until 2000. During this time she co-authored a book "Yin, Yang and the art of natural cookery" with Marlise Binetti.

Kat fell in love with 5 Rhythms dancing at a friend's birthday party in 1995, and took her first classes with Victoria Cresswell in Bern. She met Susannah and Ya'Acov in their ongoing group "Ritual" at Orval in Belgium in 1999. Since 2000 she has been organizing workshops for them in Switzerland Kat has been an authorised Movement Medicine Teacher since January 2013, teaching her MM own classes – see page Kat's classes.

Kat lives with her husband Mario in Brunate, Como, Italy. Their 28 year old daughter Francesca is moving to England. Kat will return regularly to Switzerland with her programme of Dance Ritual Days in Thun.

See photos of altars by Vicki Cooper, from Kat’s Ritual Dance Days in Thun.

Alter
Altar Altar Altar Altar

Kat Forrester Events

AGBSeitenstrukturEnglish

Die Kat-Geschichte

View from Home

Kat wurde in Manchester, England, geboren und wuchs in der kleinen ländlichen Enklave Parbold Hill auf, umgeben vom industriellen Südwest-Lancashire.

Foto Katriona

Mit 18 ging sie von zu Hause weg und studierte Soziologie an der Universität Birmingham. Anschliessend machte sie noch eine pädagogische Zusatz-Ausbildung an der Universität York. Danach unterrichtete sie ein paar Jahre das Fach Sozialkunde an der Mädchenmittelschule Kidbrooke im Südosten Londons. Darauf folgte eine 9-monatige Reise durch Afrika, die ihren Horizont stark erweiterte. Dann arbeitete sie mehrere Jahre in einem Bioladen auf dem St. Nikolaus-Markt in Bristol. 1974 zog sie nach London, um an der "kommunalen Gesundheitsstiftung" in der Old Street fernöstliche Philosophie, Heilkunde und Kochkunst zu studieren; gleichzeitig wurde sie im Restaurant Sunwheel in Camden Lock zur makrobiotischen Köchin ausgebildet.

1981 zog sie in die Schweiz und arbeitete zuerst als Küchenchefin im Restaurant Sesam an der Monbijoustrasse in Bern. Sie gehörte zum Gründungsteams des Studienzentrums Kientalerhof, arbeitete dort bis 2000 und unterrichtete Kochen und Shiatsu. In dieser Zeit schrieb sie zusammen mit Marlise Binetti das Buch "Yin und Yang und die Kunst der natürlichen Küche".

In das Tanzen der 5 Rhythmen verliebte sich Kat 1995 am Geburtstagsfest einer Freundin und besuchte den ersten Wave-Kurs bei Victoria Cresswell in Bern. Susannah und Ya'Acov lernte sie 1999 in der Jahresgruppe "Ritual" in Orval, Belgien, kennen. Seit 2000 organisiert sie für die beiden Workshops in der Schweiz. Kat ist seit Januar 2013 authorisierte Movement Medicine Lehrerin und unterrichtet Movement Medicine – für mehr Informationen klick auf Seite Kat’s classes.

Kat lebt mit ihrem Mann Mario in Brunate, Como, Italien.  Ihre 28-jährige Tochter Francesca zieht nach England. Sie wird weiterhin regelmässig in die Schweiz zurückkehren, um die Tanz-Ritual Tage in Thun zu leiten.

Siehe Fotos:  Altäre der Tanz-Rituale mit Kat in Thun, Gestaltung von Vicki Cooper

Alter
Altar Altar Altar Altar